A Little Rambling

I don’t know what happened, I used to journal every day, but now I can’t even keep up with my blog, and as far as journaling in my paper journal…forget it, it has been months and months…maybe even a year since I last put pencil to paper. And I so need to get back to that, I feel an emptiness in my life without that journal getting filled with all the day to day stuff. And I miss playing with my art supplies to create visual pages. SO, I guess it is time to start setting aside a little window of me time and get back to that. Maybe start out slowly and aim for once a week. As for blogging, I need to start doing that every day, and there are reason for that, including one I am not all that happy about, more anxious than anything.

The reasons? My daughter and son in law will be leaving for Iraq for a second tour this coming year. They will be leaving the area in January, and I don’t know, but sometime in April or May they will be leaving the country. While I know a little of what to expect this time around, it is still going to be a nerve wracking year, full of worry. I know in my heart that God will watch over them, but the worry still creeps in. And of course I hate not being able to just call her up and talk, or take a weekend and go visit them. I miss not being able to hug her or see her in person for so long.

So anyway, the last time they were in Iraq I tried myspace to try and keep her up to date on the happenings around here, but that didn’t go so well, I hardly ever updated in the journal area there, so I want to do it more this coming year while they are gone, and I will do that here. And then there are other family members that I should send this link to so they can keep up too. And lastly, my responsibilities to my CT’s. I should be posting my layouts all the time. For them and also for the family, besides words, my layouts usually show what is going on in my life and with my family. SO…I am starting now, today, to get something posted every day…even if it is just a few words or a layout. Now to decide on
a time to do that, and DO IT! I am thinking I will have a couple friends try and help me out by asking me, ‘did you blog today?” LOL. So if you check my blog and don’t see an updated post…give me holler and tell me to get on the ball! I know Hummie is good at leaving me a comment every now and then when it has been a while since I updated…thanks Hummie!

I am going to plop a layout here in the middle of my post. I did this one for Digi Dare #108 and it was just the perfect dare at this time in my life. At first I was going to do it on my Mom, and I think I will still do one about her being my hero, but I went with my daughter this time. All images are linked.


Last time she went to Iraq, she lived in an apartment here in the same city as me, and she decided to put everything in storage and then find a new place once she got home. She has 3 cats, and we had to split them up within the family because we all have 2 and 5 total would have been a bit much. Now she is married, has a great place, and doesn’t want to put her animals through that again. And she wants to be able to come back and be able to really come home to her own place, not live with someone while she looks. So, I am moving the end of December to stay at her place and take care of everything for them. I just live in a studio apartment and I still have my 2 cats, but her place is much bigger and I will have one of my sister’s staying there too, so it will be easier for me to just move out there. And I don’t have a bunch of stuff really, how can you in a small place like I have? I pretty much plan on coming back here, my Mom, my other sister, husband and nieces live here. I am thinking I will miss not being so close to them all. But who knows what the future holds. So for the next month I am going to be busy packing and getting most of my stuff up there. I think the big things I will put in storage here, maybe in my sister’s basement, but I don’t think she has room, lol.

And what else have I been doing in the scrapping area? Making presents! I have quite a few in progress and a couple done, so I will also be busy doing that this next month. I want to get them all done by this time next month. And I have been busy creating layouts and hybrid stuff. I am even starting to do a few hybrid layouts, which is harder for me to do than anything else, but I am getting the hang of it…or at least figuring out HOW I like to do hybrid layouts. I do most of it digitally and add accents from my paper stash. And I am finding that I like to use templates for hybrid. I can print out the main part, then hide that and print out other parts so I can layer with things that aren’t digital with the digital. Here is my latest, and you can see how I did that.

I printed out the photo strip on the left separately and put it on top of the swirl. Plus I was able to write on it with my own handwriting, which I sometimes miss doing. Of course, if I ever sat down and finished doing my own font and sending it back in to Darcy Baldwin, I could put my own handwriting on digi layouts too.


I have also been doing some challenges from Get Digi With It and Scrap Matters. You should check them out, they have some great challenges. Here are a couple of those.The first one is for the everyday magic challenge at Scrap Matters. The second one was for the paper 2 digi challenge at Get Digi With It.


And this last layout I just had to show my funky hats, the large photo showing my new one, lol.


And lastly, I signed up for Jessica Sprague’s Storys in Hand class. I have not even started it, but will do that this weekend I think. So far it has been awesome! And really I can’t wait to make my little album to put my stories in.

If you made it this far, thanks so much for sticking with me through this long post! Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

