A Challenge Between Friends

My friend Kate has decided to challenge herself, and asked me if I wanted to join in on it, and I jumped at it. We are both on a few CTs and most of our layouts use the products just from them, which is not a bad thing, but we also find lots of freebies and still purchase kits from other designers and those kits tend to sit on our hard drives gathering dust. So our challenge to ourselves is every day we scrap and do layouts or whatever for CTs, we are going to also make something using a freebie or a kit we have purchased. We started yesterday and we each met our challenge. Go us!! I can’t post my CT stuff that I worked on yesterday, for that you will have to come back on Friday, as it will be a freebie! I can post my non-CT layout, which is also going to be a calendar topper for the one I am making for my family this year. This one is Januarys. Two down, 10 to go, lol. And if you’d like to check out the beautiful layouts Kate did, check out her blog, Life In My Zoo. Image is linked for credits.


I woke up this morning to see the trees all covered in white. Our first real snow of the year! I always love the first snow, the first real blizzard/storm, and of course I always hope for snow on Christmas, although that doesn’t always happen. But right now, the traffic is muted, and during the night the snow has covered everything in a white blanket. Unfortunately I am assuming it will all be gone by Wednesday evening, when I have decided to go out and take some pics of the lights downtown. And I will only be doing that if I can find my charger for my camera battery. It HAS to be around here somewhere. I am hoping anyway, because it’s around $60.00 to replace it and I want to be positive it’s not here before I go out and spend that much money. I could always use my point and shoot camera, it does fit on the tripod and I can go manual with it, but I know how to work my DSLR and I like using that for playing and trying new things. And the big plus is I have a remote for it, so I don’t have to set it up and then run to get in place for the ones I want to be in, lol.

Have you ever been to the Photo JoJo site? It’s a fun and informative blog with info about taking pictures, setting up a mini studio, and everything in between. My favorite so far is how to make an extender that is light and folds up, so I can put my camera up high and take a shot looking down on something. I have yet to it but it’s on my list of things to do. First on my list is to put together the mini studio. I have been making quite a few hybrid things lately, and trying to get good photos in my home is next to impossible. At least I don’t like them and I want to be able to show them off to the best. So, if I don’t have to go and get a new charger, I am going to get the supplies for that and have my b/f help me construct it. Hopefully I will have that done by the end of December, if not sooner. Oh, and that just reminded me of something I NEED to put on my Christmas list for this year. Now I just have to find out what it is called, but it is that tripod thingy that can wrap around anything so I can carry it around and take a photo anywhere! Guess it is time for me to check out Photo JoJo and find out what it is called, lol.

Hope everyone has a great week!

Leave a Reply

