Technology amazes me yet again…

The other day I was watching Life on Mars. My daughter has most of them saved on her DVR. It’s about this man who gets hit by a car and is transported back to 1973. And as I watch this, I see how much things have changed, and in all reality, in such a short period of time. In the police station where this guys works, they show a policewoman who really is more of a glorified secretary than anything at that time, using a mimeograph machine to make copies. And how old am I to even KNOW that is what she was using? There are no computers in the station, no cell phones, and all the other things we pretty much take for granted in this day and age. And that was only 30 years ago! How awesome is that? They now have women on the police force that are police officers, not someone they call on when they need a caring ear when they have to tell someone a loved one is gone or to make copies.

I have always loved history, and if you really sit and think about all the things we have in our lives now that our parents and grandparents didn’t have, it just truly amazes. But what really prompted this is my day 18 picture. But first I must show day 17…

Friday after being cooped up inside for days with the below zero weather, I needed to get out, and I had found a camera shop in LaCrosse and they had a battery charger for my Canon DSLR, so my sister and I headed out to get it. This is a shot of downtown LaCrosse. Kinda pretty isn’t it? I like when cities try and keep the old buildings and use them and keep the downtown area so interesting. I could probably spend a whole day down there checking out all the little shops, which I will do once the weather is nicer.

Day 18

OK, when I first took this picture I thought well that didn’t turn out so great, but the more I looked at it, the more I like it. So, why did I take this? I went with my sister last night to Sloopy’s while they threw darts. Now this is not the first time I have been there, but it was the first time I really looked at the juke box. It’s hard to read here, but at the top it says, Internet Jukebox. How cool is that?? You can pick from 1,000’s of songs now! I just thought that was amazing and very cool. Can ya tell I don’t hang out at bars all that much? I don’t know how common that is to have a juke box like that, but it was very new to me, lol.

And day 19

SO, moving to my daughter’s house to take care of her 3 cats and bringing my own 2 in the mix, we knew we were going to have some not too happy cats. I have to say it hasn’t been as bad as I thought it would be. A few little skirmishes, and still a little growling and hissing, but this morning 2 of her cats and 1 of mine decided to finally let things go so they could share a saucer of milk. And if any of them want any they have to share because Dori, the tabby one, will drink it all up if you don’t get your little tongue in there, lol.

Now onto my layout for ADSR #4 challenge 4. I had a lot of fun with this one and used stuff on my hard drive I forgot I had. It was supposed to be a little arty and journaling from the soul. Something that is important to you or you want others to know, heartfelt. I really liked how it turned out.


4

I finally got the chance to upload my January Desktop. I love how it turned out. I used Winter Magic by Jule Designs at The Digi Chick. You can find it here. I used one of my favorite pictures from Rocky’s birthday last year. Oh, and Happy Birthday Rocky!!


5

That’s all I have for today. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

